Birth Story: Part 2 (of 2)

When the water broke we both jumped into action, I was telling David, grab the hospital bag, a towel for the seat, the binder with the birth plan and a number of other things I’m failing to recall now. Of course that baby outfit was still in the dryer. So we wouldn’t be bringing that right then. He told me he’d get everything, I just needed to get to the car. This time when I called the doctor and left the message, I said, my water broke, I’ll see ya at the hospital. While we were in the car, he drove and I sent some text messages and made the phone calls to our parents and a few friends. After an accidental wrong turn we ended up at the hospital just before eleven o’clock. David swung the car to the front doors and as we left the car just sitting there, I told him to lock it..to which he replied that he’d get me checked in and then come back to park the car. Well, he never came back to park the car. But he did mention that he wanted to three times in the labor and delivery room.

So when we arrived at the hospital, another couple was there too. The pregnant women seemed to be just fine. By this time, I was in all sorts of pain and the contractions were coming more. She said that I should go ahead, well of course I should..! I checked in, and they already had my bracelet ready for me, said my doctor had already called. A nurse offered me a wheelchair, I couldn’t imagine sitting down right then, walking was more distracting. She walked us to an exam room, to which I was very confused. I told her my water had broken like 30 minutes ago. She said, “what, your water broke; okay you’re going to a different room.” Up we went to the labor and delivery room. A few more nurses were in there. I got ready and onto the bed. The nurse checked me and she said I was between 8 and 9 cm dilated. As she read my birth plan and asked all sorts of health questions, she joked that well I was getting a birth with no-pain medication as it was too late to administer any meds anyway. Another nurse who was working on getting me set up said a few times that the IV needed to be put in. She tried on one arm and it wasn’t working so she went to the other. By this time I was quite focused and even though I know the contractions were more intense, I was managing them much better and they seemed to be less painful. Well one thing led to another and before I knew it, I was pushing. I let out the loudest scream I had ever vocalized. I’m not the loudest person and I surprised myself and I think the other people in the room as well. My doctor looked straight at me and sternly told me never to do that again. She said that I needed to put all that energy into my push. I listened. David held my hand the whole time and told me that I was doing a great job.

Ella Marie was born at 12:48am on July 4, weighing 6 pounds and 11 ounces, and 18.5 inches long.

She was (then, and is still) perfect.

~

Read my husband’s perspective here.

1 Comment

Filed under family, Motherhood, pregnancy

One response to “Birth Story: Part 2 (of 2)

  1. Kiersten

    loved reading your perspective! Can’t wait to finally meet ella ❤

Leave a Reply

