God in the Quiet

Friends of ours gave us a little book with thoughts from Mother Teresa. I was reading it again and was especially brought to this part that speaks about silence,

“In the silence of the heart God speaks. If you face God in prayer and silence, God will speak to you. Then you will know that you are nothing. It is only when you realize your nothingness, your emptiness, that God can fill you with Himself.”

I wonder when do I ever have a silent heart. My heart always seems to be filled with the troubles or stuff of this world. Do I ever work on making my heart grow quiet so that I can open it up to God’s words?

I have met people here who have hardly any formal education and the lack of critical thinking in this country is astounding. But some have hearts that are silent. It often seems like they are preaching to God in their prayers, in a loud whisper that sounds like a sort of sputtering petition. But in daily work, they are calm, strong and open to the words God has for them.

Leave a comment

Filed under faith

Leave a Reply

